Waste Management Bluffton SC

March 17, 2020

Annual Waste Management

Beaufort County provides 11 convenience centers located throughout the county where residents can drop off their household solid waste and yard waste. Residential C&D debris is accepted in small amounts at three centers (Shanklin, St. Helena, Bluffton). Seven of the convenience centers accept recycling materials. Specific information on recycling is available at: General Recycling Info. Commercial businesses are required to contract with a private company for their hauling and disposal needs. Please note changes in Convenience Center operating hours listed below.


City of Beaufort - Telephone: (843) 525-7054
The city of Beaufort offers curbside solid waste and recycling collection to residents. Residents are charged monthly for solid waste that is included on their BJWSA water bill to participate in the program. The initial recycling bins are free and can be obtained by calling the telephone number above.

Town of Port Royal - Telephone: (843) 986-2215
Port Royal offers curbside solid waste and recycling collection to residents. For more information call the number for the Town of Port Royal above.

Town of Bluffton - Telephone: (843) 706-4500
Bluffton offers curbside solid waste and recycling collection to residents. For more information call the number for the Town of Bluffton above. The cost of recycling is paid for through property taxes.

Town of Hilton Head - Telephone: (843) 342-4581 or visit

County Convenience Center Operating Hours to Change Starting October 24, 2015

The operating hours of all Beaufort County Convenience Centers will expand from 7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., starting October 24, 2015. The Convenience Centers currently operate from 9:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. According to Joshua Gruber, Beaufort County Deputy Administrator, “This expansion in hours is possible because the County has been able to closely monitor its expenditures and identify areas of cost differential which favor the County. Reinvesting these amounts within the solid waste and recycling program will enable an expanded level of service to help satisfy consumer requests.”

All Convenience Centers will remain closed on Wednesdays, for routine maintenance of trash compactors and other equipment. Group A Convenience Centers will remain closed on Mondays and Fridays as well, to continue accommodating traffic and usage patterns in associated areas. Beginning October 24, 2015, Convenience Centers will operate as follows:

Group A: 7:30 a.m. – 7:00 p.m., Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday, Sunday

Closed Monday, Wednesday, Friday and County Holidays

  • Big Estate, 63 Big Estate Road
  • Coffin Point, 10 Cee Cee Road
  • Cuffy, 152 Cuffy Road
  • Sheldon, 208 Johnson Road

Group B: 7:30 a.m. – 7:00 p.m., Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday

Closed Wednesday and County Holidays

  • Bluffton, 104 Simmonsville Road
  • Gate, 130 Castle Rock Road
  • Hilton Head, 26 Summit Drive
  • Lobeco, 6 Keans Neck Road
  • Pritchardville, 270 Gibbet Road
  • Shanklin, 80 Shanklin Road
  • St. Helena, 639 Sea Island Parkway
Source: www.bcgov.net

Share this Post